Wednesday, March 26, 2008

The Semester is coming to a close!

Well my semester is coming to a close and in some ways I can't wait, but in other cases I'm still really not ready for this. I'll be glad to be done with my classes, but I will have a bunch of textbooks to read this summer which won't be so much fun, but oh well. Also I'm not overly excited about having to work again. The work isn't so bad it just gets stressful at times, but I guess life is typically stressful. I finished my Stats class today which made me very happy. i don't think I did so great on teh final but at this point as long as I passed taht is all I care about.

So I'm sure that you can guess that I'm working tonight. It's a boring job, but I think that I'm pretty much ready for my test tomorrow at least. I have a test tomorrow, two assignments due tomorrow as well, a test thursday or Friday, and project that needs to be finished sometime in there. But I did find out today that I won't have a final in my Sensation and Perception class which is absolutley amazing since I really think that a final would have brought my grade down. So ya schools going and getting done which is good.

I took off and left CUC for the Easter break. I was really needing to get away so it was nice to leave. I went up to my Uncle's place and had a good time up there. I did so much Snowmobiling though that I'm pretty sore now, but it feels good to know that I went out and did something. I had to study during the weekend but it wasn't so bad. I'm going to working for my uncle for only two months so after that, I'm planning on heading out East to Pugwash and work there again this summer, especially if my little brother is headed out there. He is such a cool kid and I'd really like to see him out there for a summer. Anyways that's all that going on in my life right now, so I'm gonna head off and go over my stuff a little more.

Tuesday, March 18, 2008

One more day til break

I can't wait to have break. I've only got one more class to sit through before I'm off to Smokey Lake for a little relaxation and good times. I'm really tired of staying around here all the time, so it will be nice to get away. I of course still have homework to get done so I'm taking that. I was able to do my Stats midterm Yesterday and it actually went really good, which I was surprised about. I'm gonna take my Stats final after I get back from break. Tonight we had the awards ceremony for scholarships and all that here. I got $1300 in total which isn't too bad. One of my friends got $10,400.00 which is pretty cool. That is a whole year worth of tuition! I was kinda jealous but this guy works hard and deserved it. Anyways that's pretty much all I have to say tonight. It's hard to write and think when I'm this tired.

Sunday, March 16, 2008

Working Sunday morning!

It's Sunday morning. I've been awake for about 3 hours already and it's only 7:45 am. It's snowing and blowing outside and it looks kinda miserable. So I think that spring should hurry up and get here, so that we stop getting all this cold weather, which I'm really tired of. Yesterday was a lot of fun, since a bunch of us went to the mountains and just chilled out there doing random and unique things. It was a lot of fun and we went to a frozen waterfall which was really cool.

Today, although I've only been up for like 3 hours and done nothing but work turning out to be one of those frustrating days. It's one of those times when you thought that you had things figured out, and then suddenly you find out that things aren't as they appear. The details aren't worth talking about, but I'm kinda annoyed and not to happy by a few things today. Now because of what has happened I'm not even sure what I should do. Anyways whatever!

So this morning I've done a lot of homework which is really good, because after breakfast I'm going back to bed so that I can sleep since I've gotten very inadequate amounts of sleep all week and this weekend as well. Next weekend should be better since I may be going away. I may go up to my Uncle's for the weekend if possible. I'll probably have to take some homework with me but that's ok, since it will be good for me to get it done. It will be fun, and I think that it's about time that I got off campus for a few days. I have a lot of things that need to get done the next week, but sometimes one just needs to go and relax for a little bit and have a good time. I have a stats midterm tomorrow which is going to be a killer, but on the other hand i can't wait to get the test over with. I'll have take the final soon after. So after I have my nap I'm going to study stats for a while. I think I'm fairly ready for it, but a little more isn't going to hurt me at all. I'm really jealous of my parents right now. They should getting to Mexico sometime today and I'm stuck here doing school and watching snow fall....hahaha...but I guess that last year I did get my fair share of the tropics so I shouldn't be complaining. Anyways I think that is all the rambling that I'm going to do this morning.

Saturday, March 15, 2008

Something different

So I'm working this morning but I've only been working since 7 this morning and not 5. Last night I looked at the schedule and new that there was no way that I would be able to get up at 5 this morning so I got rid of two hours of my shift. It has been one of those rather sleepless weeks and it was nice to get a couple extra hours of sleep. Today a whole bunch of us are going to go to the mountains for the day. It is cloudy and snowy today but we don't even care. We are going to take food and all our warm clothes and just go chill for the day. Sounds to me like more fun than anything else going on right now. Oh ya, I got a scholarship from CUC. I don't know how much it's for but I got one, so that is kinda exciting. It will probably be the $150 one, but oh well, it's still money and it's always nice to get something. Anyways that's kinda all I have to say right now.

Monday, March 10, 2008

Lives of Others

It is funny how we go through life, worried about our own little problems, but suddenly we are put in a place where we get a glimpse into someone elses life. Today I was sitting in our student lounge and studying. Just outside of the lounge it's self is this circular hallway where there are different rooms and offices. Anyways the sound carries amazingly down this hallway, and those in the lounge are subject to many interesting conversations. The first one was of two high school students discussing where there were going to be going to university. I found it amusing to listen to the one girl try and convince herself that she was going to a certain university because she wanted to and not because the boy she like was going. Also later on a college student and proceeded to tell the secretary in one of the offices that he was now dating. I have no idea if he wanted to the whole student lounge to know what was going on, but we did hear and we all had a chuckle. With this certian individual however I think that he would have been very happy to tell everyone about it. I wouldn't be going around telling everyone that I was dating, I'd let everyone find out in their own time. Well I'd tell those people who were important but other than that I figure that everyone else really needs to know, and besides that no one else really cares.

So anyways that is about all the interesting news that I have for today. I am busily working on getting stuff finished up for the end of the semester and hoping that all goes well, and that it will get done on time.

Friday, March 7, 2008

Dropping it all

It is late on a Friday night, but that doesn't matter when you have one of those important times in your life. For the last couple of months but more specifically in the last couple of weeks I've been stressing about different things in my life. Tonight I had a really good conversation with a friend and I came to a sudden realization that I'm talking and saying things but maybe not living them. I say that God is my number one priorty but I tend to keep things to myself, and to try to get them done in my own time. I needed to get back to where I let God deal with all those details in my life that are driving me nuts. It is only through God that I can find that peace that I'm looking for. The last few weeks I've been feeling this restlessness, and a need to get out and change things up a bit, and I'd even been contemplating doing things that I'd regret later. So in order to try and make myself feel better I was watching movies in my free time. This just worked to keep me occupied but did nothing. I still believe in action, becuase that is what being a Christian however what the specifics are I have no clue and I'm ok with that, because I know that whatever it is that he is there with, working out whatever is best. I know that God has something instore for me that is going to make it amazing, and all I have to do is to be willing to follow. God does not ask that I do anything amazing, except that I follow. Which at times I will admit is not easy because at times it feels like you are stepping out into thin air and there is nothing under there, but somehow it all works out. This isn't any pumped up over adrenaline ride that I'm on, but an honest to goodness following of God. I used to wonder why we didn't see miracles and God working and doing amazing things today, but when I was in Venezuela last summer I realized that if we just sit at home, going to our own services that aren't pushing us and all that, then we are limiting God and what he can do. I mean really now, why would God have in reason to do something amazing in my life if all I do is sit on the couch. God asks us to step out and it is then that he can do something amazing. That is why i could never understand all teh revival type exclamations of God's powere, because I mean really what purpose where they serving, besides some hyped up version of Christianiyt that passed and was like nothing the next day. That just wasn't good enough for me...the God I serve never does anything "just because" if he supplies me with an amazing spiritual gift then it is given when it is needed, and not because of some emotiont that I'm riding. I can understand that some people don't believe in God but in my life and the things that I went through last year, there is no doubt in my mind that God is real and alive out there. When I was in Venezuela I was in fear and afraid about what might happen...and I believe that God was the only thing that got me through. The God I serve is there through it all. I feel my life sometimes with so much noise that I can't hear him, but he is still there. I just wonder sometimes why I let myself get so caught up with everything that I can't take a step back and realize what the really important thing is out there in life? It has been a rough couple of weeks for a number of reasons, but I watched this video tonight and I realized that in all my tough times, that God was right there with me saying, "I love you so much and I know how to get out." all I had to to do was to listen. Life is cruel, and it gives out unfairly all that it can, however I know that through it all I have something greater there for me. All I have to do is accept it. Ok so sorry everyone for my ramblings but sometimes I have to say this stuff out loud because otherwise I'll forget too easily.

Wednesday, March 5, 2008

Good times last night, but crap today!

Well I got to go to my first NHL game last night. It happened quite by chance actually, however I didn't have to pay so that was completely sweet. I went to an Oiler's vs Nashville game. Oiler's lost but it was still a lot of fun anyways. It was a good time and was just glad to get out and away from CUC and all my school for a while. Things are getting crazier than normal around here right now. With the semester starting to draw to a close there is more and more to do. Also there are some people in my life who are acting a little stupid, however its really not even worth talking about it's so dumb. So the stupidity in my life is causing me stress which is pretty dumb, however it is also annoying becuase there is nothing I can do about it and that is probably what annoys me the most, because I like to be in control of things and deal with them, however I really can do nothing in this case.

So anyways lets see what else is going on. Well lets say that I'm also kinda stressed about my Statistics midterm and final that are coming up in a couple of weeks. It will pass and all will be well again, but in the mean time, things are crazy. Anyways I'm tired and almost sick so I should run, and head off to bed since it is already like 11 thirty.

Saturday, March 1, 2008

I want to sleep

I'm barely staying awake this morning. I don't know why I actually agree to work at such ridiculous times in the morning, especially on a weekend. I dont' think this is going to be such a great weekend. There are just a few things that aren't going so well, but oh well, I guess that is life. I don't even really know what to say on here. All that is happening right now in my life is that I'm pretty much starting to stress out over school. Not so much just the normal school, but my Stats class is stressing me out, and its not even that it's so hard, but just that I feel that I really need to hurry up and get it done. I just wish sometimes that school didn't have to be so stressful. Anyways this is super short, but maybe I'll write more later.